top of page

fireflies

Last night I had the amazing opportunity to join a bunch of other believers in a campfire worship night. It was crazy because it was part of my church’s young adults group and I’m shook at the fact that I am now a young adult😳... but anyway while we were worshipping it started getting darker and darker and then out came the fireflies. I’ve always loved fireflies, my brother and I joke that they look like glitter sparkling at night. Last night, God showed me a different way to look at fireflies. I noticed how they all blinked at different times and in the most unexpected places and then it hit me.... that’s God. His “light” shines at different time and in the most unexpected places!!! You can’t know exactly when that light will shine but you know it will and you chase after it, like you chase after God and His hope and His light.

But then it hit me even harder. I’m a big believer in how us as believers are called to shine a light through the darkness that sometimes floods over our world. WE ARE LIKE FIREFLIES!!!! We shine our light in the darkness with others!! I’m not sure if you’ve ever noticed (maybe this is just coincidental) but when one firefly shines it’s light, it’s followed by a bajillion other fireflies shining their light. And I was like woah, we’re like that!!! When one person shares the hope of Christ and shines their light and love, they’re often followed by other people that express that same light and love!! We’re like fireflies and God is like fireflies... makes sense considering we were formed in the image of God. Wow. God is really good. And He’s always trying to show me that but yesterday after I really long time I truly felt His goodness completely, it was a lot to take in but it was worth it and I’m hoping that that goodness and light floods me all my days. :)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page